Girls and Women in Philosophy

by Miroslav Imbrišević 

You may ask: What does an old white man like me know about girls and women in philosophy? Well, I used to (and still do) teach them. The issue I want to discuss is the underrepresentation of women in getting a PhD or a tenure track position in philosophy. In arts and humanities subjects, women get just over half of all PhDs awarded, but in philosophy it is around 30%. Only 20% of philosophy professors in the US are female, and this ratio (20/80) has been stable between 2010-2021. [1] So far, two explanatory models have been put forward to account for this: 1. Different Voices; 2. The Perfect Storm. I will not discuss the models in detail, this is not my aim here, but I will briefly introduce them. 

Read the full essay here: https://cathoderayzone.com/acropolis/girls-and-women-in-philosophy/

Leave a comment